What is the best way to make Survey doctypes in Schools?

I don’t know is it the correct place to post my question or not
I’m new in ERPNext and trying to create a survey system under the Schools app in ERPNext
The Survey may be about “Course”, “Room”, “Instructor”…etc

I have this structure

• Survey (docType)
    ------ Type (Select represents doctype of the school module [Instructor/Room/Course]
    ------ Description
    ------ Start Date *
    ------ End Date *
    ------ Status

• ---- Survey Questions (Table)
    ------ Question Text *
    ------ Question Type (select Text/Multiple choice / True or False Question) *
    ------ Question Options (Table)

• ---- Survey Results/Responses (Table)
    ------ User which make the response *
    ------ Response Date/Time
    ------ Questions Answers (Table)

I have created these doctypes
but I have a problem
can not show the options of the answers in the survey response doctype
and I want to list all Rooms if user selected the survey type “Room”
if he choose that the survey about instructors I want to preview list of instructors … etc

I’m confused about the correct representation of my structure as doctypes

1 Like

Nice.

Create separate Doctype for Survey questions, and not as a child form. Create a Web Form for the Survery Questions doctype only.

You can set dependency of field like Room, Instructor etc. based on the selection of Survey Type.

Also, if Room and Insturction is added as a link field, then it will behave like a dropdown field for the user, with option pre-filled.

1 Like

Thanks Umair for your reply … it helped me so much

I have couple of things not working well after I applied what you told me

After I choose Room/Instructor/Course from the survey about select
I want the label changes dynamically to be “Room ID/ Instructor ID…etc”

also the button of create new Instructor / Room doesn’t appear in the second select