Question about multitenant setup

hi

this is my first time doing manual install and need some help regarding multitenancy
im following the hitchhikers guide uptill this step

after that i went to my browser and typed in my usual ip address plus port combo like 192.168.254.157:8000 but was only greeted with an error. page cannot load

error%20multitennacy

can anyone tell me what i amx doing wrong?

before i did the multitenancy step i was able to access my site fine

My erpnext is in a ubuntu server while im using another pc to connect to the ubuntu server

There are two types of multi-tenancy:

1. port multitenancy
  2. dns multitenancy

In your case, you switched on dns multi-tenancy, thus you need to setup a web server (e.g. Nginx) to do the routing to the correct site based on the domain you typed in /etc/hosts.
In your case you’ll need to type foo.bar, not the IP address.

When using port multi-tenancy, then you can use the ip address with the port number to route to your site.

Please check the docs again:
https://frappeframework.com/docs/user/en/bench/guides/setup-multitenancy

Basically the question is how the system can route your request to the correct files, using port numbers or domain names (DNS server or hosts-file).

Using nginx for DNS multi-tenancy with bench is pretty straight forward, just follow the instructions and you’ll good to go, including let’s encrypt certificates if needed.

@Paul_Frydlewicz

i already have nginx active and also supervisor active but whenever i try to access using the name demo.erp(i didnt really use foo.bar as stated in the tutorial and used my own) it always goes to my search engine like google. I am accessing the erpnext on a different pc though.

here is the error when i try to access it using ip

update 1: i was able to make it work when i use port multitenancy so i think dns multitenancy is the only thing i cant make work. is there a step i should have done to make dns multitenancy work?