ERPNext Foundation ERPNext Cloud User Manual Blog Discuss Frappé* Donate

How to delete all transaction like it was new


#1

is there like a reset button to start over again?


#2

delete company transactions from company setting


#3

When you use the “Delete company transactions” option, it does not set the database back to completely new. It still retains all of the company information and I believe the chart of accounts and users. Only the transactions disappear like sales invoices, work orders, BOM’s, journal entries, etc.

This option was put in place for you to be able to delete any experimental transactions you created while learning to use the system.

If you want a true empty system, you should delete the erpnext application from the server and re-install it to get a fresh shot at the startup wizard. I don’t know if there is a simple way to do this outside of re-installing the application.

BKM


#4

restoring a snapshot of the VM or container you have taken before actually starting to use ERPnext would achieve that at a fraction of the trouble.


#5

While that is probably very true, many of us have just recently figured out how to deal with VPS servers and installations. Figuring out containers and docker images is yet another hurdle I am not yet confident I can even attempt yet.

I (and probably many other new-comers to ERPNext) started out just capable enough to know how to install Linux servers and then install software packages like ERPNext. So as soon as I can get a handle on how to create, setup, and use docker images, then I can work on how to manage them in a production environment. That is just another learning hurdle for many of us.

BKM