Depends on - how to

I’m trying to make a field appear but on if another field has data in it. I tried myfield eval:doc.customer==yes and myfield eval:doc.customer but neither works. I don’t need specific data to appear in the customer field. If the customer field has any data I need the customer group field to appear.

How do I do this?

thanks
Sofia

Hi sofia,

This formula goes to the field which is dependent
eval:doc.item_group==“thename_ofthefiled”

please change thename_ofthefield

Hi @ferohers,

Thanks but it did not work. Even when the customer field has info, the customer group field will not appear. I need the customer group field to appear with the customer field has data.

Hi sofia,

I am not a programmer at all. I am sure you will get support soon. There must be a code to trigger what you want.

Hi @sofia, @ferohers

You can use

eval:doc.customer && doc.customer.length

It will say "When “customer field have a value” and “the value have a length” because “” is a valid value, but without length

6 Likes

@max_morais_dmm, it worked! thank you very much!!

@max_morais_dmm, I’d like to add another option to these fields. Basically I’d like them to work like this:

I have 2 fields. One is for customer group and the other for customer. I’d like to always be able to input a customer group. Only if the customer field has data then the customer group field becomes mandatory. But the customer group field should be able to have data even if the customer field is blank.

Can I do this?

thanks
Sofia

There is no dynamic mandatory, but I guess its a good feature to have.

You can use this to make things conditionally mandatory. Add it in your trigger and refresh.

cur_frm.set_df_property("fieldname", "reqd", true);
3 Likes

How can i use this conditionally mandatory script line to make a filed mandatory based on the choice made on a select field ?