App Development Basics

When I started looking into doing customization for frappe, I found it very hard to figure out where to start with getting my system set up for contributing. To help others in this position, I’ve started a basic instruction manual for how to start contributing to the frappe/erpnext community. Right now it covers the very basics of how to use github to contribute. I’m hoping to expand it significantly to cover more and more topics, like:

• Pulling a branch to continue developing
  • Stashing changes

I’m not particularly github savy, so what I’ve suggested might not be the best way of doing it, but it’s all I know. If you have anything to contribute, please feel free.

4 Likes

I really appreciate it. I was just going through it since I was planing to add Tooltip functionality and its my first time

As I warned, it’s only what works for me. Definitely not necessarily the best way. Hopefully the higher up developers can contribute.

Appreciated work! It will help …will try to contribute as I will have a better knowledge :grinning:

Thx again

I’m finally starting my journey of developing using frappe :grinning:

A couple of questions regarding the app/module.

1. If I make an app on frappe and install it on the same site as erpnext, can I use erpnext database?
  2. What would be the best way to go about if I want to use and integrate with erpnext database?
  1. Yes. All the apps in a site can access the entire database of that site. I have a could doctypes and reports as part of my app that basically just reformulate the ERP data.
  2. Making an app is the way to go. You can use hooks so that on save, submit, cancel (etc) of erpnext documents your app code gets executed.

Great! Thanks for the prompt reply. That’s good to know. Then,

1. How do I ascertain that the app and the hooks are update-proof in such a scenario.
  2. My app will be running in a place where connection to the net is not very reliable. What’s the best way for such a setup?