Workflow Email Notifications

I’m fairly new to ERPNext. I’m playing around with workflows.

I have done a simple workflow for Material Request with Draft, Pending, Approved, Rejected states.

Once a user has created and submitted a Material request, it changes to Pending for approval/rejection. I set “sent email alerts” and I’m expecting Material Manager to receive emails when a material request has been submitted, but no emails are being sent.

What am I missing?

Hi, tefoby.
I think you should try fill your email account first (maybe).
Actually i’ve never use that way :joy: but i do actually use some other frappe features.
Go see doctype named Notification and then change the send alert on the field Value Change then pick workflow_state or field that u defined in Workflow .

Thank you.

That’s a better and more flexible option

Yes but this method does not include the workflow action in the mail. I’ve asked for supposed on how to include workflow actions in custom notifications but no one seems to want to help and unfortunately i’m not a programmer and so i can’t understand the underlying code for uncluding workflow actions in mail even though i have read the code several times.

I know the next response will be “pay a developer to figure it out for you” so i’m just going to end my comment here… walks away :walking_man:

@flexy2ky Well yeah maybe this method cannot include “workflow action” in the notification/email directly, but surprisingly you can design to make it more good than just workflow action.
If your workflow action do Approve, maybe you can setting the message to
Hey please Approve this document {{doc.name}} bla bla

Well my clue is:
1st
Read it on the documentation [Setting up an Alert]
(Notification)
They there for a reason :slight_smile:

2nd

3rd
4th {{doc.something}} something can be replaced by some value field on that doc