Where is Documentation Needed?

Hello community,

We know that documentation is something users feel we need improvement on. Can we list out specific features that are not explained well enough. This is help us focussing on what needs to be fixed first.

Please add specific topics on this thread.

Thanks!

3 Likes

I am a bloody newbie to ERPNext. There seems to be literally no documentation on a very high level that explains how to start using ERPNext in an easy and comprehensive way.

Itā€™s more of a ā€žfigure it out yourselfā€œ which is quite daunting.

Is there any high level docs for non-devs?

Update: If you read on below you will find out, that my statements are wrong. It may not be obvious to find, but the onboarding info is available.

1 Like

Start at the user manual? https://erpnext.org/docs/user/manual/en/introduction

1 Like

User Level Documentation:
Accounts (India) -

• How to file GST Returns, GSTR-1, GSTR-3B .
  • Reverse Charge Entries, Tax Deducted at Source

Client Scripting- There is some Client Side Scripting Index Ā· frappe/frappe Wiki Ā· GitHub
It could be better if :

• API and functions available are shown in a more friendly form like Doxygen
  • How to use web browser console for debugging client side scripts
3 Likes

Welcome aboard! Lots to read in the forums and the manual link is a good general start. For extra help do a search in the forums for ā€œStep by Stepā€ or ā€œHow toā€ and many links to solving common problems will populate your search.

Have fun!
BKM

2 Likes

Developers Documentation

The videos of which theyā€™re are nearly hundred are a good start

1 Like

Please reply with specific topics of user documentation

1 Like

I realized that yesterday and started watching the Tutorials playlist in the ERPNext channel on YouTube.

1 Like

Yes, this link is incredibly helpful for beginners like me. I was especially searching for this page: https://erpnext.org/docs/user/manual/en/introduction/implementation-strategy