Try ERPNext Try Frappe Cloud Buy Support Partners Foundation

The German translation

I have been playing around and learning ERPNext for a few months now. I really see its potential and have finally decided, that I want to move all our operations to ERPNext. However there is a problem and that’s the german translation. It’s not only bad, but barely usable. The most basic words are wrong (e.g. “no” gets translated to “Kein” instead on “Nein”, honestly thats just embarrassing) or the meaning is lost in translation. It feels like being translated by Google Translator or some other machine translator which doesn’t know the context.

This really scares off beginners who try ERPNext for the first time and particularly scares of skeptics. Running it in English may be an option for startups with young employees, but to really gain traction in the german market a proper translation is a must-have, since the majority is not willing/able to work on an English system on a daily basis.

Now the question is of course how to get there. Since ERPNext is open-source and free to use I would be willing to invest in a german translation. First however a few things must be clarified. I’ve heard (I think in a video from @Martin_Seibert) , that the german translation was better some time ago, but somehow really got messed up and mixed with auto-translations. This leads me to worry that the same thing might happen again. Another thing is the translation system. If I want to hire professional translators, the system is very counterproductive in my opinion. It would be far better to have a CSV or a tool where translators can work linearly - string by string - until everything is translated perfectly. So this leads to my two main questions directed to the ERPNext team (would be nice if @rmehta would join the discussion, since this is critical for the success of ERPNext in the german market - at least as i see it) :

1) Can we assume that a german translation would not get messed up again?