Stock Entry Type Question...?

Hi, I’m new to ERPNext and have a question about choosing a Stock Entry Type. Suppose I have a farm and I have chickens which lay eggs… and I want to sell the eggs. I have Eggs as an item in my “Finished Goods” warehouse.

How do I enter more eggs in the warehouse? I create a stock entry… but what type should I use? Material Issue? Material Receipt? Something else?

When using Material Issue… what should I use for the Source and Destination warehouse? If I try to make them the same… it will not allow me to save.

In this case the item (eggs) are simply created. I probably do not want to enter Chickens as a supplier… but I could if you think that is the best way to model this scenario.

Thank you in advance for your help.

You should really read about the entry types first:

https://docs.erpnext.com/docs/v13/user/manual/en/stock/stock-entry

https://docs.erpnext.com/docs/v13/user/manual/en/stock/articles/stock-entry-purpose

In this case you’d want to use Entry Purpose = Material Receipt. This means that’ll create an incoming entries for the eggs.

1 Like

Thank you Kenneth… Also, I had read both of those pages - but I just didn’t understand the difference (or the application). Thank you again sir!

If you do not want the chickens to be included in your system as either assets or inventory, then the proper way to put the eggs into inventory is to do the “Material Receipt” method.

If you want the chickens to be ‘production assets’ then they could be considered collectively as a workstation for producing eggs. In this scenario you would create a production order for the number of eggs you collected. Feed would be the raw material moved to the chickens with a “Material Transfer for Manufacturing” and the completion of the production order would automatically generate the “Material Transfer” from chickens to the default warehouse for the eggs.