Sandbox/Development System Setup

I am new to ERPNext and wanting to setup a sandbox/development environment for my system. I have looked over the internet as well as this forum. Anyone is kind enough to point me to the correct path would be very, very much appreciate.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I also just started looking at ERPNext, and I simply setup a virtual machine on VirtualBox.

After I finished the setup and had it up and running, I powered down the machine and copied the image. Once I feel I have a proper setup, I will simply use that image to power up another instance as the production server. This way, I can have multiple instances running independently, yet it is easy to copy a whole setup. If at a later stage, I want to have a training system with “real” data, I can simply take a snapshot of the production machine, and use that for training/further development, etc.

I also have a reverse proxy in front of the virtual machines, so I can easily just fire up another domain (dev.erpnext.domain, prod.erpnext.domain, training.erpnext.domain, etc.) to have them all easily accessed.

Unfortunately, ERPNext doesn’t have the comfortable transport system to transfer setup data from one instance to the other, but I feel it is possible with data export/import without too much work.

Though I’m curious how others handle this.

Hi Matt,

Thanks for sharing your experience, I truly appreciate that. However may I know how does this image ‘transfer’ works? I mean, I have only done that with local windows, not with server, hence I am pretty newbie on this. Thanks in advance!

Warm regards,
Zharif

For setting up a development environment, the official docker setup is excellent. I spent years insisting on manual installs, but I wish I’d moved to docker sooner. Everything just works, immediately and without fuss.

For migrating from dev to production, I’d recommend a simple restore from backup. Under most circumstances, it’s quick and easy.