Receiving Internal Server Error on Chrome after updating to V12

I am using ERPNext on Oracle Virtualbox on Windows 7. After upgrading to V12 I am receiving Internal Server Error.
The upgrade went fine but when I Bench update --patch it gives me an error
“Uknown column 'total_taxes_and_charges in 'where clause”

and now I cannot access erpnext anymore. I have 4 months data with no backup.

Can I reinstall v11 ? I am very new to Ubuntu

Please help

you can try in the console: bench backup . to see if the site can be backed up. Then see what bench migrate returns

Thank you for your reply.
I did Bench backup it returned nothing.

How can I know if my site is backed up where would the location be.

I did Bench migrate after that and got the same as bench update --patch. The result is just before the Bench backup in the image above

waiting for your help desperately

Check the private files folder under sites for backups.

From frappe bench: cd sites/sitename/private/backups

thank you @kennethsequeira. I tried that but it said no such directory. Please see image below

erpcom is a site of mine. In Your case, it would be site1.local. Go inside sites > site1.local and check.

thanks. It worked so I guess it is backing up

but how would I know that this back up is proper

then what now. How can I get my erpnext working again. Can I install another instance and restore the backup to make sure it is working?

I would suggest copying the files in the backups folder to another location. Your instance is probably salvageable, with a bit of work. I would start by upgrading the Ubuntu to 18 if it isnt already. I would also upgrade yarn and nodejs to latest. Then try , from the ~/frappe-bench folder: bench migrate-env python3.6 then bench setup requirements. If that all goes smoothly try bench migrate again.

Thank you @smino for trying to help me.

I did the following:

I copied the backups folder to the root directory

I tried
sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade