QR code support as a control in ERPNext

hi ,
I am new to frappe and ERPNext. I was trying to build a QR code control for ERPNext. I have seen some blogs on PyQRCode 1.2.1, which can be used. I wan wondering how to build a control, using PyQRCode 1.2.1?

Can you one please guild me to make a control using the same?
thanks in advance .

@cpurbaugh and I implemented a QR code in print format. Chris has largely been the one getting the controls in place. This specific project has been on the back burner for a couple of weeks as we wrap up a migration project.

Steps:

1. Add qrcode to requirements.txt (bench update --requirements is required afterwards)
  2. Make your QR code method
  3. Add it to the jinja environment in hooks.py (Bench restart required to pick up changes in hooks)
  4. Include it in a print format

So this will get you QR code that you can style in terms of size and text input in your print formats. How you use it for control flow, is up to you, but I think it would make sense to create a sticky footer that gives you some document details.

9 Likes

@tmatteson & @cpurbaugh Hope you doing well. Need some help from you folks. The links in your thread are no longer valid. Please share newer links if you have.

I would like to get QR code imported from a 3rd party into ERPNext in the sales Order or Sales Invoice page. Idea is that services will be booked by Customer on a 3rd party webserver. Service can be booked with or without payment so sales order / sales invoice is made respectively. All relevant information including QR code is received by ERPNext via API. Based on information order (unpaid) or invoice (paid) is made by ERPNext

When buyer physically comes to get the service at client location they will show the QR code generated by 3rd party on their mobile application. User scans the QR code and ERPNext fetches the DocType.