[Proposal] Refactor Payment Entry to remove reference to specific doctypes

At the moment, it is difficult to use Payment Entry with custom doctypes as references because all of the validation logic is currently hardcoded. I am proposing to refactor Payment Entry to remove these doctype-specific references.

I am still relatively new to frappe, but I believe my approach would be to define a controller class that any custom doctype could inherit. This controller class would define methods specifying necessary validation parameters, which individual doctypes could then override with their own particular conditions.

I am writing now to solicit feedback, especially from the maintainers. Is there anything here I might not be considering?

Suggestions very much welcome!
-Peter

2 Likes

u mean making those configurable or more flexible to also allow new custom doctypes, right?

Exactly. Right now, payment_entry.py contains a lot of code that looks like this:

if d.reference_doctype in ("Sales Invoice", "Purchase Invoice", "Expense Claim", "Fees"):
    if self.party_type == "Customer":
        ref_party_account = get_party_account_based_on_invoice_discounting(d.reference_name) or ref_doc.debit_to
    elif self.party_type == "Student":
        ref_party_account = ref_doc.receivable_account
    elif self.party_type=="Supplier":
        ref_party_account = ref_doc.credit_to

My proposal is to make the code in payment_entry generic (and thus compatible with any doctype), shifting any specific validation that needs to be done to helper methods in the reference doctype itself.

I could imagine the public developers telegram group may be a good place to get some more feedback and advice on how to technically approach this endeavor.

1 Like

I think @saifi0102 was already working on such a refactor. Maybe you guys could collaborate.

Hey,