PO calculated price incorrect for package purchase

Hi,

I’m new to ERP Next. So far, it’s looking like a workable solution for me in most cases. However, one thing has me hung up. I have many items that are purchased in packages, e.g. screws, bolts, nuts, etc. I track these in inventory with a UOM of “EA” for each (i.e. individually). I buy, as mentioned, in packages, with a UOM of “PK”.

Within each item, I set up multiple UOMs, “EA” and “PK”. The conversion rate for “PK” is however many are in a package. For example, a package of washers that has 100. The package price is $10, and I set this up in a price list for the item. I set the default purchase UOM to be “PK”.

When I go to create a PO, I expect that ordering 1 will set the line item price to be $10. But it sets it to be $1000. It’s multiplying the price by the conversion ratio.

If I set the price to be the price/100, then everything would work out correctly. But the purchase price is the pack price! I don’t want to have to enter in a modified price!

I’m coming from another ERP where this worked smoothly. I’m hopeful that I’m just missing something. Thanks in advance.

Dear Ryan,

The price list rate in ERPNext is for the Default UOM of any item.

So you should enter the price of Each ‘EA’ in the Standard purchase price list which in this case will be ‘0.1’. After this you’ll get the correct value in the PO for ‘PK’ UOM.

Alternatively, without creating the entry in the purchase price list, you can directly make one PO for one Packet by manually mentioning the 10$ rate. The system will automatically enter the rate of 0.1$ for each item in the standard buying list.

Hope this helps.

Thank you for your response. However, doing things as you mention in your first method poses problems. For example, a pack of 25 that is $12.99. The individual price is $0.5196. If I enter that in for the individual item price, it rounds that to $0.52. Then, the pack price is incorrect.