[Newbie] How to do erpnext database replication

Hello all
i am a newbie to erpnext system, i have seen how to backup erpnext database Backup & Restore - #11 by revant_one
but when i decided to do database replication using another server i thought about Mariadb.

i use erpnext VM based on ubuntu14.04 but when i do mariadb command the shell raises an error although mariadb is used by mysql !?

frappe@erpnext~$ mariadb
mariadb: command not found

frappe@erpnext:~$ mysql --version
mysql Ver 15.1 Distrib 10.0.32-MariaDB, for debian-linux-gnu (i686) using readline 5.2

frappe@erpnext:~$ mysql -u root -p !@#!@#
MariaDB [(none)]>

Shall i re-install mariadb ?
or shall i use rsync since the backed up databases are already (–prepared ) ?

[ My fear is when there are some transactions taking a place during my backup, that is why i am thinking about using mariadb when doing replication instead of rsync ]

maybe you have a better solution, or i miss understood something
Please advice, your help is highly appreciated.

If you want to run MySQL cmd shell:
bench mysql

Make sure you’re at frappe-bench directory.

1 Like

@ibrasec

As indicated clearly in the Error above, MariaDB uses the same terminal command as MySQL does, which is mysql command

There is no need to reinstall MariaDB its working fine by the looks of it.

With regards to the backups, you can schedule them to take place when the system is not in use, like 1am and for that you simply change the cron times

Hope this helps

2 Likes

Dear @ibrasec for your reference
Bench Commands Cheatsheet

The backup very important

Thanks for your replies @saidsl @magic-overflow