Launching erpnext using helm chart isn't creating database schema

I’ve been working through the instructions on how to use the helm chart, and although everything seems to be done per-instructions, for some reason the database that I’m setting up is not getting a schema built.

I’ll warn in advance, but i’m a bit of a novice to mariadb…

when i connect to the database, execute “use [database name]” and then “show tables;” it comes back as no tables.

Does the initial schema get created for the managing database when you create the first site?

There won’t be any site created by just installing the helm chart.

It’ll only create needed services and start them.

To create first site (schema), job needs to be created.

About job: https://helm.erpnext.com/kubernetes-resources/create-new-site-job

From what I gather, I am talking about the frappe master database. This is not the “_{short-guid}” database, but the master database, which I called “frappe”

There is no master database for frappe.

The helm chart installs ~/frappe-bench like environment in k8s cluster.

On it’s own ~/frappe-bench is just the environment (python env, node_modules, static assets, common config files)

Creating a site creates the database and site related config files. In case of single machine install, bench new-site command creates the first site. In case of k8s install, Job needs to be created to run the command to create site.

I don’t see any benefit in running mariadb and nfs in cluster, unless your cluster has powerful nodes, hyperconverged volumes and expert scripts to keep things highly available on kubernetes.

For my setup I have a vps under private network and use it as database and nfs server.
I’ve attached volumes to it under /var/lib/mysql for mariadb and /var/nfs/general for nfs and I can scale them on the fly using cloud provider console.

If things grow I may use provider managed services or scale and make the nfs and mariadb HA separately.