How to remove revisions from serial number after amend

Hello guys, how to remove revision’s after amend invoice i.e. i create invoice SINV-00003 after amending it saves as SINV-00003-1 i don’t want new copy of invoice just to update old one with same number (SINV-00003).

That is how the amended documents are saved by default. If you wish to have same id you might have to delete it and create a new one.

thanks kanchan, but is there any way (programmatically ) if i cancel the invoice it will become draft invoice. i studied framework & i see if the status of invoice (in database) is 0 that means it is draft invoice and status 1 menas submitted and status 2 means canceled , so if i changed status on click of cancel button the problem will solve but i dont know where is cancel button program is written.

Okay here’s how to do it.

Prerequisites:

1. System admin access
  2. Hold other people from carrying out those transactions (Sales Invoice, Delivery Note…) that you are trying to amend.

To make it easy, let’s go with this example:

Let’s say you are trying to modify a Sales Invoice SINV-00123 and you don’t want the -1 appendage when you modify this invoice.

Step 1: Make a duplicate of the SINV-00123. It will have the latest series number, but leave it in the draft mode. Let’s say the latest series is SINV-00126. So the duplicated document with bear number SINV-00127. You can and should skip this step if you are generating the document in question from another document (like you are making the Sales Invoice from a Delivery Note or from a Sales Order).

Step 2: Now cancel and delete SINV-00123. Don’t just delete. Cancel and Delete.

Step 3: Now ask all people to stop making transactions for this document, till you finish this cycle.