How to push custom fields to standard doctypes in custom App?

Hi,

I would like to know if it is possible to push custom fields to Standard doctypes of erpnext from a custom app.

I am trying to prepare an app where there are certain custom fields in the Address doctype would be added if a person installs the app.

I know making new docs is possible but is it possible to push the custom fields through the app and how, it seems that this kind of thing is not explicitly explained in the help files.

1 Like
  • hooks.py add:

fixtures = ["Custom Field"]

• do bench frappe --export_fixtures

The Custom FIelds will become a part of your app.

1 Like

I am sorry to bother you again but could you be more descriptive in the explanation since I am not a seasoned developer and hence I can’t seem to find a way to add the custom fields.

I have added the line fixtures = ["doctype: 'Address'"] in my hooks.py

When I run the command bench frappe --export_fixtures I am getting the following error:

`Exporting doctype: 'Address'
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/aditya/frappe-bench/env/bin/frappe", line 9, in <module>
    load_entry_point('frappe==4.4.4', 'console_scripts', 'frappe')()
  File "/home/aditya/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/cli.py", line 53, in main
    return run(fn, parsed_args)
  File "/home/aditya/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/cli.py", line 83, in run
    out = globals().get(fn)(**args)
  File "/home/aditya/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/cli.py", line 67, in new_fn
    return fn(*args, **new_kwargs)
  File "/home/aditya/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/cli.py", line 669, in export_fixtures
    export_fixtures()
  File "/home/aditya/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/utils/fixtures.py", line 31, in export_fixtures
    export_csv(fixture, frappe.get_app_path(app, "fixtures", frappe.scrub(fixture) + ".csv"))
  File "/home/aditya/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/core/page/data_import_tool/data_import_tool.py", line 40, in export_csv