How to properly use Income Accounts?

I’m new to ERPNext, so go easy :sunglasses:

Our organization handles a lot of event ticket sales, and I’m just trying to figure out what best way to record them.

E.g.:
Jane buys $100 worth of tickets via PayPal.
In Journal Entry:

• I credit $100 from 1200 - Debitors (Accounts Receivable), Party Type: customers, Party: event tickets
  • I debit $97.50 to 1140 - PayPal (Bank Account)
  • I debit $2.50 to 5410 - PayPal fees (Expense)

Now how do I get these to also show up in 4510 - Revenue - Program Sales & Fees (Income Account)?

(And assuming I effed up, is there a clean way to edit all those journal entries, instead of cancelling/amending then all, which leaves the canceled entry in the history.)

Hi @Dovid_Levine,

Why would you create Journal Entries in the first place, instead of using Sales Invoice and Payment Entry?

1 Like

I’m also not sure why you’re trying to do this via journal entries rather than invoices/payments, but if you want to do it that way you certainly can. Journal Entries are 100% manual. If you want something recorded to an income account, you have to say so.

In this case, you’d need two more lines in a journal entry: $100 CR to an income account and $100 DR to a receivables account. If you don’t want to cancel and amend, you could create a second journal entry representing the other half of each transaction.

@rmeyer @peterg the customer details aren’t important, the amounts relatively small, and there’s tonnes of them. With no real-world invoice it’s seems a waste to create a digital one, just to then have create a sales receipt that does the same thing a journal entry does in one step.

Although I just discovered that projects defined in Journal entries aren’t actually recognized in the GL or anywhere else, so now I have to decide if that’s worth double work…