How to make monthly work summary report?

I’m new to making new DocTypes and I want to make a Monthly Work Summary report similar to Daily Work Summary.

There is a Daily Work Summary available out of the box.
In the company I work in we send monthly work reports to a department head.
I’ve made corresponding copies of Daily Work Summary DocTypes

• Daily Work Summary > Monthly Work Summary
  • Daily Work Summary Settings > Monthly Work Summary Settings
  • Daily Work Summary Settings Company > Monthly Work Summary Settings Company

Also added Department and Send Email On fields.

As I understand I should also create a Scripted Report. I hoped I could copy most of it from daily work summary report but I couldn’t find it in erpnext Report List. If I understand correctly the daily work report has THESE SCRIPTS.

So to sum up my question: what should my next steps be?

Hi,

I think the following changes will be important to make the current system work for you…

1. Move this line to monthly so that ‘Mail for response’ will be sent each month
  2. Remove the current hour check from here so that it can send mail each month without checking for hour. So mostly the mail will be sent at midnight.

Let me know if it works for you. Other changes (like Renaming Daily → Monthly, some logic to check if send_summary method is not triggered before getting the responses) might be required to make it perfect.

Thanks,
Suraj

I’m stuck at the very beginning. I didn’t get to the point where I should change the code yet.
What I’m tryinhg to achieve now is to figure out how to properly copy the Daily Work Summary scripts and reuse them.