How do you deploy changes to production env?

Hi!

Im new to frappe development and im wondering, how do you all deploy your changes in code/database to production?

So for example.

I have a client, and he wants from me to add some new fields to some already provided doctype (Purchase Invoice for example) and to add some code to custom script for this doctype and to backend. I have made this changes in my local development environment and how to push this changes to production? some changes are made in database some in code… are you guys using git for versioning? but what about changes in database?

2 Likes

You should create an custom app and add custom fields as fixture?, Im not a developer but I think is better than customize the core.

Yes. As mentioned above deploy all changes as custom app. This will ensure the core doesn’t change and you are able to update/upgrade whenever there are changes in master of Frappe or ERPNext.

1 Like

I did this, i have made a new custom app, but… how in custom app hook into existing doctypes? Purchase Invoice for example? There is only place for new doctypes created by me.

Hi @wookiefc,

As mentioned above, the Recommended way of making changes is to create a custom App. This App’s code exists in its own directory. You can use Bench commands to download and install new Apps, remove them, etc. An App is essentially a bunch of files, in a directory that Frappe Framework knows about.

TL;DR - Stick with custom Apps unless you really know what you’re doing.

With that said, I will share more information with you…

Yes, ERPNext uses git for versioning. For the 2 main apps (Frappe, ERPNext), the .git files are located here:

• Frappe Framework: …/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/
  • ERPNext: …/frappe-bench/apps/erp/

You can run

$ git status

in each directory, and view the repository info.