Handling of material for 3D printing during production-run

Hi

May I ask for some opinions on this matter…

The material used for 3D printing is the printing filament which is purchased in rolls. The rolls I
have are 1kg.

The slicer does give me an accurate estimate of material and time for the print .i.e.
3.04 g that will take 34 minutes to print. So I can load this into my BOM for that part.

This does however , require that I re-think the way I book the stock into the warehouse when
I purchase the printing filament. One way would be to say … the smallest unit of filament that
I use , is 1g ( of which there is a 1000 in a kg-roll). So when I purchase the 1kg roll I don’t
book one roll into the stores-warehouse, but 1000units (1g/unit) into the warehouse. So
when I do material transfer for a production run, I do a material transfer for 3 units ( lets say
the part is 3g) to WIP.

I am also studying the “Backflushing” in ERPNExt … but it seems that I also require 1g-granularity for backflushing as well.

Any opinions, perhaps, please?

The best thing to do is use unit of measure table in the item master. Any material you’re using in BOM, try to give the lowest denomination in the default UOM. After that add the unit of measure accordingly in the UOM table. E.g. starting with the lowest one to the highest

@johnlongland

Your toughts about store the filament in grams is okay
You also should include the UOM Conversion 1K → 1000grams

There’s few options abou the BOM, but the simplest is

Material consumption.

So, with Material Consumption Enabled, you can weight your piece and compute how much material it took!

One nice feature to explore is the alternative materials in production

So you can have a simple BOM as

3d Printing

• Material
    • Filament 1g
  • Operations
    • Slicing
    • Printing
    • Finishing

So, it will be your general BOM for all 3d prints, but while consuming material you can say

10grams PETG, 8grams PLA, 11grams ABS etc.