Git setup for professional frappe erpnext and custom app development

Hi, I want to start development for erpnext, but I’m missing some kind of a “best practice” for a development setup.
Although I’ve read all of the tutorials, guides, videos available for dev-setups for frappe/erpnext, I did not find answers to the following general and specific questions:

Scenario:
We want to use frappe/erpnext within our startup to handle typical standard processes, therefore I assume we need a bit of customizing. Unfortunately, I have no experience with ERPNext so I can’t tell yet, to which extent. We also need to integrate our own specific business logic, frontends and processes etc. for which I assume is the custom app architecture best.

General question:
I think I understood the concept of apps and how to use them to extend ERPNext. Yet, within various blog posts and READMEs it is implied that several people usually start developing on the ERPNext app files within the bench/apps/erpnext folder itself. Is there any advice on what files can be changed without risk to guarantee upgrade-ability? In future, when I have the apps/erpnext folder in a private git repo, how to install it on a staging and production system then? I assume the bench-commands won’t work then.

Furthermore, the next question is based on using the frappe_docker bootstrap containers as explained here: frappe_docker/README.md at main · frappe/frappe_docker · GitHub