Error at: Create a new bench

Hello, I’m very new to this and I was manually installing ERPNext until the step where I need to create a new bench. I was following the steps given on GitHub - frappe/bench: CLI to manage Multi-tenant deployments for Frappe apps and here what I’m getting as error when I type “bench init frappe-bench && cd frappe-bench”. Would you kindly please assist me with this error?
I am running Ubuntu 14.04.2 (trusty) LTS

Have you libmysqlclient-dev or libmariadbclient-dev installed?

When I run sudo apt-get install libmariadbclient-dev I have this error
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
libmariadbclient-dev : Depends: libmariadbclient18 (= 5.5.56-1ubuntu0.14.04.1)
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

When I run sudo apt-get install libmysqlclient-dev I have this error
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
libmysqlclient-dev : Depends: libmysqlclient18 (= 5.5.57-0ubuntu0.14.04.1)
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages…

Try to install mariadb client by hand with ‘apt install mariadb-client’

And do an apt-get update && apt-get upgrade, appears that you have broken dependences.

But I have installed already mariadb at the begining

But you have there mariadb version 10.2 but libmariadbclient-dev are looking by dependences for mariadb 5.5. I don’t known if you are using backports, but ubuntu trusty appears doesn’t have mariadb 10.x version.

[1] Ubuntu – Package Search Results -- mariadb

I still don’t understand what I should do sir. Do you want me to install mariadb 5.5? I tried to install mariadb-client your way and then tried to install libmariadbclient-dev still the same response.

@kyughost seems dependency issue.
first install libssl-dev sudo apt-get install libssl-dev then run bench init frappe-bench && cd frappe-bench.

Thank you for your answer. I followed the steps and here the the same result

Here the whole thing:

~$ bench init frappe-bench && cd frappe-bench