Dual UOM, Batch/Lot level uom conversion factor

Does ERPNext have the dual UOM feature as follows?

• Dual UOM means every item can have 2 units of measure like Kg (Primary unit) & Meters (secondary unit)
  • There could be a standard conversion factor between them for each item.
  • All inventory transactions will require user enter quantities in both the units.
  • Inventory will be maintained in both UOM
  • Every batch (lot) recorded into the inventory could have its own conversion factor which could slightly differ from standard conversion factor between KG, Meters for the item .
2 Likes

Unfortunately, as of now, ERPNext does not fully support Dual UOM although it seems to be very much requested.

The only feature available right away is that you can convert from 1 UOM to another upon purchasing (UOM conversion).

https://docs.erpnext.com/docs/user/manual/en/buying/articles/purchasing-in-different-unit

I have extensive experience dealing with this while implementing Oracle e-Business R12. Interested to contribute on this feature but it may be too early as i am yet to fully learn the development in frappe/erpnext. In my experience its a big deal feature for any ERP to have and its been adopted in many of legacy ERP solutions as well. Especially in process manufacturing industries.

2 Likes

The feature has been requested so many times but without actual contributors (i am a frontend dev + a project / product manager), if you would like to contribute you can open a github issue and start from there :slight_smile:

Thanks Mark. Will check it out.

I have a client with very similar requirements and needs.

In a smaller project, I would agree with submitting a GitHub issue. However, ERPNext currently has over 2,600 open issues on GitHub. The oldest is from year 2013. I’m sure there’s already something in those talking about dual UOM. Assuming I’m wrong, would new issue #2601 be reviewed? Worked on?

Dual UOM isn’t extremely difficult. But it is rather intrusive: