Demand Driven MRP - Revolutionary approach to planning- custom app under development

DDMRP or Demand Driven Material Requirements Planning is a formal multi-echelon planning and execution method to protect and promote the flow of relevant information through the establishment and management of strategically placed decoupling point stock buffers.

This new method is challenging decades old methods that are embedded in established ERP like SAP, Oracle etc

Developing a solution based on specification released by Demand Driven Institute is an opportunity for ERPNext commnunity.

More so because Odoo already has something on these lines.
https://eficent.io/

We can help with understanding the business part of the opportunity.

4 Likes

It would be helpful if you could point out what is missing in ERPNext to what is expected in this type of planning approach

Hi Pavan

I am not an expert on ERPNext.

Basic difference is for Make to Stock scenario - traditional approach is to take forecast as an input. DDMRP uses forecasts to impact the buffer design but the actual production orders and supply orders are generated based on actual consumption in the market.

Demand Driven Institute site has lot of whitepapers to explain the nuances.

Hope this helps.

The idea makes sense. But turning it into actual action points is where the value lies. Maybe actually look into what ERPNext offers, then do a gap analysis and present that. Otherwise this is going to go nowhere.

4 Likes

I guess it would have to be two ways. Those who are experts on ERPNext share their experiences on the challenges faced by clients when what is offered by ERPNext is getting implemented.

I have narrated the generic challenges with other ERPs.

@deepaknagar
it is a very big subject in itself, something similar is ‘Theory of Constraints’ by Eliyahu M. Goldratt. The author is a legend for some prominent teachers and industry leaders.