Custom template for Data Import Tool?

Hi!! This is my first time using ERPNext as a businessperson so I am very new to the software and customization aspects. As per my requirement I would like to use the data import tool to import my BOMs and upload them to my ERP since I find it cumbersome to commit manual data entries from OpenOffice Calc to ERPNext especially when we have many BOMs to register.

I have viewed the Data Import tool GitHub page and have seen the default template available for download and subsequent upload. Although this is nice, I would ideally like to create a custom template that any of our employees can download, fill in and upload (as CSV) to ERPNExt. The advantage of having this custom import template would be that we get a spreadsheet template which is familiar to the user so there would be minimal wastage of time when any user chooses to import the template and export data as opposed to manually feeding data into form fields within the ERP. Is this possible? Any workarounds if not? What are my best options?

TL,DR: Need custom Data import/export template

Thanks!

Unfortunately custom templates are not allowed for now, you will have to download the template. But you don’t have to download it everytime. Just download it once and distribute to your team, they can add records and upload.

I see. I wish we could set up a custom template that could be used for import/export. My problem is not necessarily the import/export part of the data but the “format” while importing/exporting.

It would have been great if I could:
Import template → Add data → Export data → Use code or scripting of some kind to autofill fields in ERPNext with values from spreadsheet.