Custom module without documents

Is there a possibility of defining a module that would not use doctypes to access various features?

My purpose is to create one or more modules that are for systems that do not need, nor require, doctypes, as the data is stored outside of ERPNext/Frappe, and I would like to make it a part of the portal system so I do not need a new portal per application.

Yes, no problem. Without doctypes, the only real function that modules serve (at least that I’m aware of) is namespacing. You can stick non-doctype code in the root of your application or in a module, as is more convenient for you. I don’t believe there’s much functional difference.

In these instances, can I still access roles, etc. so I can use the permissions management?

As far as developing the module, would there be a good starting point? I have limited knowledge of python, so I’m trying to figure out where to start.

What do you mean by permissions management? Permissions in Frappe/ERPNext are all document-oriented, so without documents there are no permissions to manage.

Edited to add: additionally, the portal doesn’t use the permission system for access but rather links documents to accounts by some other factor (usually email address, I believe). If you provide a bit more information about what you’re trying to do, we can probably offer clearer answers.

I’m trying to build a few modules rather than microservice front-ends to manage various tools within a SaaS business. This could also be for a micro-enterprise where they’d want everything on one portal without switching context. Take a thought at Google, where you have GDocs, GMail, Domains, etc. It would be a hell of a lot nicer if EVERYTHING were within a single portal, with a single and consistent permission set.

1 Like

I am wondering if you are using the word “portal” in the general sense, rather than the very specific sense that Frappe gives it.