Custom Field Type (Code) Can Java Script be used in this to read and write to the data base?

Custom Field Type (Code) Can Java script be used in this to read and write to the data base?

It’s the opposite of that. Code is used to display code, not execute.

Basically it's the same as preformatted text in this forum.

If you are looking to use javascript, use the custom script feature in settings.

I have already used the code field with java script in the default value field and it executed in the form correctly.Just didn’t know if it would write to the database.

@jayte it scarres me (are you doing it in the very wrong way!)!

Maybe is a nice approach take a look in the tutorial!

http://frappe.github.io/frappe/user/en/

I’m not a programmer and was trying to get a page break that would work when we save to PDF. I was hoping to have a drag and drop field so I could put a page break in our cover pages for quotes. where we needed them. The script generated the page break but it didn’t pass to the PDF. I was getting desperate after trying everything that was suggested to get the print format right.

Now I’m trying to pull the Sales Partner address into our quotes. I’ve tried the
cur_frm.add_fetch(“partner_name”, “address_line1”, “d_address_line1”);
in the custom script and it does not seem to be working. This is straight from the documentation.
I was trying to think of other ways to do what I needed.

If we didn’t have two months of work invested in ERPNext I think I would go with something else. If I was good at Java and Python I might think differently. Pretty frustrated with it right now.

Thanks for the help.

address-line1 is not a valid field name. If anything, it could be address_line1

also, there is a checkbox in sales order item for page break. Not sure why it’s not there in the Quotation. It may be able to be replicated with a custom script.