Creating- Document Management App

Hello, I am working on creating a document management app. I am new to web development but I have been programming for 20+ years. Mostly embedded systems.

I will describe the basic concept. I am looking for suggestion on how to approach integrating it with frappe and erpnext apps.

Intention of the app: To track changes too engineering drawings (Documents) and associate them with Items to be manufactured. To track changes to legal documents and associate them with customers and distributors. Each new Document created in ERPNext will get a title based on the type of document and a unique serial number.

When the first file is attached it will be assigned revision 000 and tab 00. During the attachment process the file is renamed to format:
GROUP-TYPE_########## = GROUP-TYPE_serialnumber_revision_tab
Example: DWG-ENG_100100_00_00

Subsequent attachments will get a new revision or possibly tab. The serial never changes.

The new Documents can then be associated with manufactured parts like laser cut acrylic parts. Or PCB’s with gerber and hole files that have to be tracked.

Application:

I have figured out how to generate the Document name and serial number using naming_series. I have figured out how to configure the custom_doctype for Document.

What I really could use are some suggestions on how to handle the attachments…

Currently I have modified frappe’s upload.js file to handle the rename if the docype is Document. i.e.

#Edit:
I removed the code so others are not encouraged to take this route. See below…
#End Edit

I know this is not the correct way to do this but I am not as familiar with adding custom script. Any suggestions?

I had this mostly working but had a bench update accident and am starting over with a new custom app in bench.

I will post more soon. Thanks everyone…

1 Like

@zeroxcorbin welcome to the forum sorry for the late reply.

The best way to handle this is to change the filename server side.