Cost of goods calculation

OK absolute novice in accounts here. i got a few question regarding p & l and cost of goods sold.

1. Isn’t cost of goods sold only to be shown in direct expense account after the goods are sold?
  2. why does the amount come as negative in cost of goods sold on stock entry?

I entered all the stock of the store from stock entry -
in accounts tree it was already showing me the entire amount. now as i sell the items its actually decreasing , shouldn’t it be the other way around?
like when i sell stock in hand should get subtracted and added in cost of goods sold.?

Also in profit and loss statement its showing me negative value in expenses.
check the profitability analysis :

This is where my confusion lies
income i get - why is expenses in negative ?
The negative amount is from cost of goods sold , other expenses come in positive like write off etc…

how can i be in this much profit when i haven’t sold my items i paid for?

is there some things to keep in mind while making stock entry for items like choosing account?

please advice…

1 Like

You are no novice in accounts, definitely. Your fundamentals seem to be rock solid.

Just go to general ledger and pick COGS and you will see all the transactions that posted these values into COGS.

Chances are that there are a few errors that have occurred while posting transactions because of which you have this problem.

I mean, won’t it be awesome in the real world to have -ve COGS?

Thanks

Jay

@JayRam - thanks for the quick reply even during festive season

so here are some snaps of my GL for COGS -
ALL stock entries are credited and all the sales invoices are debited

So, in the end my profit loss statement looks something like this:

all other expenses are positive , shouldn’t COGS be positive? right now income - expense is becoming income - (-COGS expense )

all by stock entry are of type material receipt
COGS is calculating cost of items not even sold yet-