Capability Question: ERPNext EDI Integration Options

Community,

First, hello and thank you for viewing this post. I’m currently very new to ERPNext, but am optimistic that thanks to customization options available, the self-hosted version may suit the needs of my organization.

We are venturing down the road of EDI (Electronic Data Interchange) with one of our larger partners which will require a bolt-on software to our existing inventory/manufacturing software. We are not all that excited about the prospect of having to stay with said inventory/manufacturing software though and would prefer to move as much of our organization as possible into an ERP.

So, the question here is whether or not there are any existing/documented EDI capabilities within ERPNext. If not, has anyone had any experience in implementing a custom solution using ERPNext, and if so, how did it work out and what would you recommend we watch out for as gotchas.

Does anyone have any experience with this that they can share?

Thank you.

2 Likes

@EBurt My team and i are working in this for one of our clients and it has been going good. This is what we are using. http://edifabric.com/

Wow, and it’s an open source project! I’m reviewing the documentation there now. Thank you!

@EBurt If you can share your repo and we will help you when we can

Hello, I am working with open source EDI integration with ERPNEXT , for this i am using open source (http://bots.sourceforge.net), To integrate with ERPNEXT there is many changes in the process . If i can help you, please let me know.

@mona1977 We had looked at bots how is the intergration going for you?

Thank you both for the input/suggestions. We may need to engage a consultant to help facilitate this integration; time and resource constraints and all that. My organization is located in the Pacific NW region of USA. Anyone you might recommend?

Thanks again!

@EBurt what documents types are you looking for?

@woakes070048