Bench new-site pymysql.err.OperationalError: (2003, "Can't connect to MySQL server

Hey Team,

I am new to ERPnext and as a part of my learning process in wanted to install ERPnext on my vps server. Configuration of my VPS server is as below:
1 CPU Core
1 GB RAM
20 GB SSD Storage

While trying to “bench new-site erp.something.com”, I am getting this error - pymysql.err.OperationalError: (2003, “Can’t connect to MySQL server on ‘127.0.0.1’ ([Errno 111] Connection refused)”)

I have changed the ‘self.host = host or “127.0.0.1”’ ->'self.host = host or “localhost”’ in /opt/bench/erpnext/env/lib/python3.6/site-packages/pymysql/connections.py file but didn’t work. I am getting this error in Python 3.6 and 2.7 both the version.
I have latest version of PIP 20.0.2

@soumyadeeps Is this production or development system? sudo systemctl restart mysqld try this.

1 Like

Thank you @arokia for your response.
Since I am new to erpnext, I really do not know whether the files that I have downloaded or the commands I have executed is of for production or development system because in the installation guide it is not mentioned whether it is for production or development.

The idea at this stage for me is to have a development system setup and that the development server would not be my local system, but it would be deployed on the VPS server for any development activity.
Additionally I also want to have the production setup done on the same server as a separate instance. Kindly let me know if this possible.
Along with it would be great if you can help me out from where i can get the proper installation guide (CentOS7 / Ubuntu 18.04)

Secondly I have restarted mysql service according to your suggestion ( sudo systemctl restart mysqld) but it didn’t work.

Thanks in advance and would be great if you can help me in letting me install the development as well as production setup.

Thanks
Soumyadeep

@soumyadeeps Please find below links for setup guide