Add row into child table in another DocType with custom script

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie on the custom script.
I have 3 Doctype: Teacher, Class, HistoryTeaching.

• In Class doctype, I have a field “teacher_name” linked to Teacher.
  • In HistoryTeaching, I have a field name “class” linked to Class.
  • In Teacher, I have a field name “history” with Table type and linked to HistoryTeaching.
    When creating a new class, this class will be assigned to a teacher; I want this class appears in table “history” of that teacher.

I wrote a script below, but it not work. please tell me what wrong with this.
frappe.ui.form.on('Class', { 'after_save': function(frm) { frappe.call({ 'method': 'frappe.client.set_value', 'args': { 'doctype': 'Teacher', 'name': frm.doc.history, 'fieldname': { 'class_name': frm.doc.class_name } } }); } });

You may try calling a server side function from your custom app, through hook on save/submit event:
The py function may look like below

#On Submit Event of Doctype A Fetch field_a  to new row in table_b of Doctype B
def scenario_1(self, method):	
	target_doc = frappe.get_doc("CS Doctype B", self.linked_field_ab)
	existing_row_id = frappe.db.get_value("CS Table BY", filters={"parent": self.linked_field_ab, "field_by1": self.field_a}, fieldname="name")

if not existing_row_id:
		target_doc.append("table_b", {
			"field_by1": self.field_a
		})
		target_doc.save()
		frappe.db.commit()
3 Likes

Thanks for your help @Mukesh_Variyani , I will try and inform the result :smiley:

@Mukesh_Variyani
Could you explain for me: what is “CS Doctype B” and “CS Doctype BY”? name of DocType B and table name, is it?
Thank you,

“CS Doctype B” name of doctype for table_b (Table in Doctype B)
“CS Doctype A” name of doctype for table_a (Table in Doctype A)

1 Like

Ok understood.
:heart_eyes:

hello, any update here? are you succeed implement the script? If yes, could you please share the script regarding your use case above?