Using Frappe as an identity provider for single sign on (SSO)

Hi everyone,

I recently configured my ERPNext installation to act as an OAuth identity provider. When you see websites suggesting things like “Log in with Facebook”, that’s OAuth. These “social logins” can be handy, but they’re inherently public. That didn’t work for us because we wanted to limit access to our web applications to just the people in our company.

Using Frappe as an OAuth identity provider, on the other hand, allows you to grant access to third-party applications only to people with a Frappe account. This has been really lovely, as it allows everyone in our company to use a single sign-on account to access a number of other web services we use (in our case, Nextcloud, Drupal, and Zulip).

The process was quite simple, but it took me a while to get set up because I am very new to how OAuth works. In this post, I am just going to share the process I used in case it helps anyone else to get started.

Step 1: Setting up your Social Login Key

Navigate to the Integrations > Social Login Key doctype, and create a new document. Set Social Login Provider as “Frappe”, and then enter your ERPNext install under Base URL. Those Client URLs will be set automatically, and they define the API endpoints that your other applications will use to authenticate user credentials.

In the end, your Social Login doc should look something like this:

Step 2: Define your OAuth client
The next thing you’re going to do is define the client parameters for the other application you want to log-in to using your ERPNext installation. In this case, I’ll be using Nextcloud, a file sharing platform that’s kind of like a self-hosted Dropbox.