Payroll entries, salary slips, and the general ledger

I’m new to ERPNext and still trying to figure things out. Right now, I’m a bit confused about the intended relationship between the Payroll Entry doctype, Salary slips, and the general ledger.

I get that the Payroll Entry is a way to generate multiple salary slips at once, and that it also generates a Journal Entry to put payroll on the books, but the design doesn’t quite make sense to me (probably my own fault).

Specifically, I’m not quite clear on what the Payroll Entry document represents. If, for example, I later cancel the journal entry it creates, the Payroll Entry doesn’t reflect that in anyway. Likewise, once the salary slips have been created, they’re not linked to the Payroll Entry document.

Perhaps this is completely misguided, but I would expect the Payroll Entry document to contain a table of linked Salary Slips, and then I would expect it to write to the General Ledger directly rather than through an untethered journal entry. That would, to my use at least, be a lot cleaner and clearer. Is there a design reason behind all the unconnected documents?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Your observation and what you had in mind may relate thread discussion
Salary slip submitted, but no journal entries - #2 by Randy_Lowery

and initiative Feature Request Submit Salary and post JV from salary slips · Issue #8421 · frappe/erpnext · GitHub