How to purchase just the necessary quantities for a production order

I’m new with ERPNext and production planning.

I have an assembly (BOM) that I know I want to build. I have some inventory, but not everything I need. I just want to buy what I need, not everything on the BOM because I already have most items. I’ve tried to figure it out, but can’t see how to use the production planning tool or anything else to give me a simple view of what I need to purchase.

Help would be appreciated!

1 Like

Hello Ryan, Did you ever get a response to your question? I am having the same issue where I have created the BOM for the assembly, generated the sales order and then requested raw materials which pulls into a purchase order, but that is where I stop. The raw material request creates a mass purchase order and I have several vendors within this BOM, so that does not work for me and it is telling me to order everything and is not taking into account the stock I already have. I am a newbie with this software and need all the help I can get. Thanks Rene’

Unfortunately, I didn’t get any response and I haven’t been able to completely figure out the production planning tool. I used it tonight to try to prepare items for a prototype assembly I’m making. It seemed like it mostly generated a report showing the items I needed. I have a BOM that I put in the “Select Items” section of the production planning tool. Under “Material Requirement”, I put “All Warehouses”. I then try the “Download Materials Required” link and look at the generated file to inspect what it thinks I need to order. Not everything on the BOM is listed, which seems correct because I have some of the items fully in stock and some items partially in stock.